Anubhav Samantray of grade IX was declared the winner of The YOUNG ASTRONOMER TALENT SEARCH 2019 organised by Tata Steels Pvt Ltd in association with the Pathani Samanta Planetarium. He received the award from the Honorable Chief Minister of Odisha, Shri Naveen Patnaik. Anubhav was one of the top 20 students who were selected amongst 60 students, after a round of rigorous personal interview on science and space. He would be travelling to ISRO in the month of June 2020.
Conducted all over the
state, YATS 2019 saw the participation of 62000 students this year. Two students from each district were selected, based on their academic merits and writing skills on the topic “Unravelling the mysteries of space”. From the 60 selected finalists, only 20 made it to ISRO.
The YATS finale is conducted every year on the birth anniversary of the renowned astronomer of Odisha, Shri Pathani Samanta.
Anubhav was guided by Ms. Reeta Tripathy and the overall mentoring on Space Science was done by Mr. Bijoy Mathur.